Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2009 TOYOTA TACOMA

2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Average Customer Rating:
4.821 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
27 of 28(96%)customers would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Review 1 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
First Truck,
March 12, 2014
By Imitation-Cheese
from San Jose, CA
"I am coming from a Honda Civic. The feeling of driving this truck is much different (obviously). I feel like I'm in command of the road. Cars get out of my way when they drive too slowly in the fast lane because my presence is known due to the higher elevation of the headlights, I assum.
Gas mileage is worse. I'd like a longer bed, but I have 4 doors in a truck that easily fits in my garage. Utility with performance - what more could I ask for?!
It's a blast to drive, and it handles almost like a car. Parking is a bit tough and tight at times, but it's totally worth it!
The price is steep, but I really feel like I got a good value for all the convenience I get with this truck!
Absolutely love it!"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?25-34
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 2 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
2009 Toyota Tacoma Sport,
September 15, 2013
By Bill
from North Central NC
"Great truck. Am very happy I bought it. Looks and runs great. I think it will last me a long time."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?65+
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 3 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
My Tacoma,
July 4, 2013
By Jon
"I did a lot of research before buying my Tacoma. Different packages and body styles. I discovered that what I wanted was very hard to find, because most people won't trade a truck like this in. It's a good solid truck and it is built to last. Being a mid-sized truck it gets great gas mileage, but it's big enough to haul or tow anything I may need. With the spacious double cab I also have plenty of room inside for hauling kids. It's a versatile truck for a versatile dad. I couldn't be happier with my selection."
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?25-34
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 4 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
2009 Toyota Tacoma,
April 21, 2013
By Saxman
from Virginia
"I needed a solid truck that had four-wheel drive, a four door cab and towing capability. I also wanted a truck that was in the mid-size range. The Tacoma meets all this criteria. I shopped around and found very few trucks in this category. In my opinion , the Tacoma is the only truck of value in this category. I went from a truck that was a V-8 to the V-6 in the Tacoma. I am getting used to a little less power, but this is offset by less trips to the gas pump with the Tacoma. If you are looking for a compact to mid-size pick-up, but a Tacoma."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 5 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Love my Tacoma,
April 20, 2013
By dug
from Georgetown, TX
"I actually purchased this vehicle from overseas based on the quality of product of Toyota and the quality of service I've experienced with Carmax. About two weeks after my sister picked up the truck, I was able to drive it and I love it even more than just from the photos. I will be taking the car to Yangon, Myanmar so I needed a quality vehicle known for its durability and reliability. I will buy my next vehicle from Carmax as well."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 6 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
I Love This Truck!,
March 18, 2013
By Carolyn
from Tennessee
"I have waited a long time to find the exact truck that I wanted. This is my first purchase without any input from my husband and I am very happy with my decision. It handles very well, it had the options that I required, and the overall appearance was what I wanted.
If there is a down side to this truck, it does not get the gas mileage that I had hoped for. I also wish that it had a compartment to store the headrests I removed from the back seat. I like lots of room to look out my back window when backing! Other than that, I would certainly recommend this truck to anyone looking to buy."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 7 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Excellent Value,
December 16, 2012
By JLander
from Frederick, MD
"This medium size truck was better than I expected. It has a reasonable tow/cargo capacity and great mile per gallon performance. I'm happy with the handling and the cabin room. It feels bigger than it appears from outside. I also got the extended cab which is great for storing tools and serves as a trunk. It is quiet in the highway and feels safe as it drives. The manual transmission save lots of gas. My only complaint so far is that the speedometer reads higher speed than what it actually is doing. I measured/compared with several GPS devices and it's off by about 3 to 4 mph. My explanation is that Toyota used the same speedometer as the one for 4WD model which has bigger tires. I have the 2WD model and the tires are smaller in diameter. Other than this, I love my Tacoma."
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 8 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
great,
July 28, 2012
By conejo
from Burbank, CA
"it is a great vehicle only the down side would be have dealership lock tail gates since mine was stolen the third week of ownership which is disappointing, but other than that we love it!!!!!"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?3
Review 9 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Tacoma,
June 8, 2012
By Gizmo
from Florida
"Good Points: Reliable, good looking, well made, practical. excellent turning circle, fun to drive, very good visibility, fairly quiet.
Not So Good Points: 17 mpg (urban), basic (no intermittant wiper setting, manual window opening), driver/passenger seat uncomfortable for long distances."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Tacoma is a truck for everyone,
December 19, 2011
By SlyMax
from North Carolina
"I loved my Tacoma! Always reliable and dependable, never in the shop for any reason--aside oil changes. Even original wear items lasted, 67k miles on tires and brakes and both had plenty of wear left. Love the exterior design/appearance with the hood scoop (Sport). Tows moderate loads without issue and off-roads well. I took my 2WD with highway tires through deep mud-pits course and had no issue moving through, never stuck. V6 has plenty of power and gets decent gas mileage. I traveled a lot of highways (60k in 2yrs) and the Tacoma was comfortable and convenient for long trips as well as commuting to work. Everyday MPG is 18mpg. Highway travel could acheive 20mpg with a fresh oil change, but local was 18mpg. Any loads or old oil reduces mpg, but I never got less than 17mpg with a full-bed (no trailer). This was my second Tacoma and I had planned to keep it for another 200k miles. Only traded my Tacoma for Sequoia because the back seats aren't big enough for 2 car seats and teen. The back row space is fine for short trips or small families but if you have a large family or travel with large people in the back then the Tacoma is a little tight. Would like to see Toyota upgrade the Tacoma interior trim with a Limited model, but overall the Tacoma is great value. Would absolutely recommend the vehicle."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?2-3 years
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 11 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Excellent Vehicle,
November 29, 2011
By First Time Tacoma Owner
from Jackson, MS
"2009 Toyota Tacoma V6 4dr Double Cab 6.1 ft. SB (4.0L 6cyl 5A) Toyota Racing Development off-road package - Chrome Edition
My experience has been excellent! I purchased this preowned vehicle and have only had a couple of minor issues that were addressed by the dealership and I have not had any problems since. The vehicle now has 90,250 miles and I have all of the past service records from the previous owner and I am continuing to document all service records on the Toyota Owner's website. Some of the options included side air bags, premium stereo/mp3 player, leather interior, and cruise control. The vehicle rides well and I have been averaging 19 - 21 mpg in the city and 23 - 25 mpg on the highway. The V6 power is excellent. The AC & heater are excellent, no electrical issues, accelerates very well onto the highway, and no body fit issues. My personal goal is 300,000+ miles!"
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 12 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Lots of storage, quiet, beautiful exterior,
November 15, 2011
By Blue Ox
"I love the 2nd generation Tacomas. Their roomy interior with a lot of cubbies and storage make cab organization easy and clean looking. Cabin is very quiet, and heats/cools very effectively. Exterior features are appreciated as well with bed rails, hooks, and storage cubbies. Factory drop-in bedliner fits very well and is tough towards damages.
However, look up the current TSBs published on certain years. Both of my 2009 Tacomas needed new headlight assembilies (cracked DTRL lenses) and replacement rear leaf springs (bed bottoms out with approx. 300lbs in bed), but only one of my Tacomas was covered by the 3yr/36k factory warranty, rendering the Tacoma with more miles as SOL for any TBS replacements.
I also recommend the I4 5-speed configuration over the V6 6-speed configuration due to the lurching 2009 6-speed transmission and the accelerator holding the RPMs without pedal input with clutch engaged. If you don't need to tow over 2,000lbs, or are interested in an average of 42mpg, the I4 5-speed is the way to go."
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Review 13 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Great buy,
September 22, 2011
By MickeyT
from VA
"After owning 3 SUVs I settled on a truck....I researched and chose toyota Tacoma....Good choice. This extended cab truck was just what I needed. It was a low mileage, cream puff at a reasonable price with most of the extras I desired. I am extremely pleased with it so far, and it has been one year since I purchased it."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?65+
How long have you owned your car?1-2 years
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 14 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Good Little Truck,
May 26, 2011
By Jake
from Los Angeles, CA
"Excellent gas mileage, adequate truck bed space and handles
well for me. My only complaint is not very substantive. After
I looked more closely at various parts of its silver exterior I
found quite a few minor dings and scratches I had not really
noticed at time of purchase because I had focused on other
things. After all, this is a truck and this is Los Angeles!
Overall, this vehicle has so far proved a wise choice for me."
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?65+
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 15 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Tacoma dbl cab,
April 9, 2011
By 918 toy
from Los Angeles, CA
"I got the basic double cab Tacoma. Not an off road or sport model just a pre runner. I have to say, that for the money, its well worth it. I had a Benz before and I don't miss having it. I can do so much more with this truck and still have space for my family & friends. It's fun, I feel its comfortable, its not not a small truck & not a full size truck. Right in between, so its great..It's got performance, this truck can burn rubber. The power of this truck is awesome. This is a great truck. I love it."
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?4
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
2009 tacoma,
March 12, 2011
By John
from lexington sc
"this is all around the best truck i have ever owned, i get alot of complaments about how sharp it is and even though i got the 4 cylinder it pulls my bass boat just fine. i had my truck for about 2 months know and if i could , i wouldnt change a thing"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 17 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
Loved this truck,
December 10, 2010
By 2009 Ex-Tacama Owner
from Winston-Salem, North Carolina
"Best all around all around vehicle that I have ever owned, I would say test drive it and you will drive it Home, Guaranteed.
I owned this truck for almost two years, Never had a problem..Great Ride !! Enjoy !!"
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?1-2 years
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 18 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
tacoma prerunner,
December 5, 2010
By rx man
from South Carolina
"I love the truck and its appearence. I do wish it had auto door locks & windows. Also 4 wheel disc brakes would help. The performance is very good and it handles just like a sport truck should."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 19 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
tacoma,
October 31, 2010
By ranger
from Oklahoma City
"wonderful truck, very comfortable. Gas mileage is even better than advertised. Does as well in city driving as on the hiway.
Would recommend this truck to anybody.
"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?65+
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 20 for 2009 TOYOTA TACOMA
All that I expected and more,
October 26, 2010
By tree farmer in mountains
from VA
"I have had the vehicle for two months...still on honeymoon.
It rides nice, seats are comfortable, it is a clean truck. The 4 wheel drive works better than the last 3 SUVs I have had.
I have to get used to carrying things in the back and lashing them secure. It is a stylish truck...very attractive, functional. I am glad that I bought it. I think I paid a fair price for it. I have to get used to the combo of disk and drum brakes....not quite as good as 4 wheel disk brakes. They do work though.
the V6 engine performs well. the transmission is a little finicky when changing back and forth at slow speeds.
Great truck for my needs."
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cargo/Towing
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?65+
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+