Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN

2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
7 of 8(88%)customers would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN
Review 1 for 2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN
Test Drive,
January 17, 2014
By Campy
from California
"This Cayman S interior has been very well taken care of. No broken buttons or switches, very few scratches and the black backing and floor mats with beige seats and consoles was very appealing. Did not have the smaller sports steering wheel , and did not have BOSE subwoofers in between the back of the seats. Also this model lacked sports chrono package and was in all respects pretty basic. On the outside, the color in the dark / at night, was a bit more on the brown-red side ... it definitely was not the Cherry Red as seen in photos here, and it wasn't dark enough of a color to be considered Burgundy either... so what's up Porsche? did ya save the nice colors for the 911? There were many light exterior scratches on the paint but the 19" wheels were in good condition for its age.
Clutch was light for a Porsche, but the engine was a bit on the rough side... not velvety smooth like a new Porsche would be. Shifter was manual 6sp and was crisp, the braking was very good. Wheel alignment on this one may need to be tuned though. Overall this 6 yr old Cayman S was fun to drive and easy to drive, easily accelerated without fuss and was rock solid.
Its a very small car even for those of you used to Honda Civics or Toyota Corollas. I'm surprised that CarMax had one of these rare sports cars in their lot. This "S" model is not easy to find. Nice car but it wasn't my color.
Nice selection of cars CarMax!
"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?3-5 years
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?4
Review 2 for 2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN
Fast, Solid Handeling, and Very Responsive,
August 20, 2013
By richcz3
from Torrance CA
"Review of 2008 Cayman S - 6 Speed Manual
Comfort: I'm 5'11" 190 pounds. Between the seat and steering column adjustments, I found a perfect balance of comfort, dash view, and console access. I have the Bose Surround system which comes in handy on a long highway drive given that this is a mid engine vehicle.
Performance: The ease at which this car is brought to speed is amazing. Hearing the engine cycle while shifting is an awe inspiring sound. The car is so solid through acceleration, you might want to keep one eye on your speed. The advantage of a mid engine design is evident with very responsive steering. It feels glued to the road in turns at speeds you might not try in another car.
Value for the Money: I couldn't be happier with my purchase. A used Cayman S is the best way to go to achieve Value for the Money, especially when one considers cost of ownership like Maintenance and Insurance."
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 3 for 2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN
Good, but Tempramental,
August 4, 2013
By New Carmax Customer
"About a week after buying my 2008 Cayman S, things started going wrong - Tire Pressure Sensor giving inaccurate readings or failing, brakes sqealing, and brake light going out intermittently.
Some of these problems I would have noticed if Carmax gave me more than a 90 second test drive, but alas.
Cabin is plush but cramped - hard to get in and out of if you're over 5'11.
Performance and driving experience are outstanding.
Overall wouldn't buy again, too many errors this soon in for a car with only 23k on the Odometer."
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN
Excellent,
February 18, 2013
By Porsche Man
"I have bought and sold a lot of cars over my lifetime. I had the best, most organized experience of any dealership I have ever purchased from. Very nice people to work with and FAST service.
The cars are in excellent condition and they have anything you want.
"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?50-64
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN
There Is No Substitute,
November 7, 2012
By TicketCzar
from Charleston, SC
"The Porsche tag line really is true. I've never driven a car that is this one's equal. The mid-engine layout results in the best handling car on the planet. The Porsche quality is evident from the front bumper to the exhaust pipe. The interior is plush without being overly so.
It is a sports car first and foremost, so those who are thinking this is a smooth riding car are in for a disappointment. This car is built for agility and performance. Period. Every morning I smile when I fire up the throaty growl and shift into first gear. It is the perfect way to start a day."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 6 for 2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN
CARMAX IS THE BEST!,
April 18, 2012
By Donna
from CHESTERFIELD
"I recently purchased my Porsche Caymen from Carmax, and have purchased from Carmax before--excellent! This time proved another winner. I love my car, and it is valued much higher than the price I paid. Best--was the 30 day warranty. My car had no real issues, but did need to be aligned and a couple of rattles taken care of. Carmax did this, had my car taken care of by a local Porsche dealer...to the tune of over $1,400--included placing 2 new tires on car. CarMax stands by their promise--and delivers. As for my car---it is WONDERFUL!!!!"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN
Great Car,
March 5, 2010
By Porsche Guy
from Knoxville, Tennessee
"I have owned a 944 and a 928 and the Cayman is better by far. Great performance, great appeal, and a world class sports car. Sports car road feel and high quality. Not for everyone, but if you want a world class sports car for under $60,000 then the Cayman will meet your every exspectation."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?1-2 years
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2008 PORSCHE CAYMAN
5 stars!,
October 3, 2009
By little boy blue
"it was the best i really liked it! it was very comfortable. And it had some pretty good acceleration! All in all it was the best car i ever had!"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.