Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

2005 FORD EXPLORER

2005 FORD EXPLORER
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
36 of 42(86%)customers would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Review 1 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Explorer,
November 30, 2011
By Family of Five
from New Mexico
"We've had our vehicle now for alittle over a month. The comfort of seven seats has made a vast improvement on travel with three growing children. The extra features such as: the outside temp, miles till E, system check, and navigation are very helpful. The optional hatch window vs full hatch open is a great feature when emptying out groceries. The overall purchase has been a satisfying choice thus far."
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?25-34
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?4
Review 2 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Great value,
September 17, 2010
By Cricket
from TN
"This is my second Explorer. My previous one was traded in when we hit 150,000+ miles and it was still running so I believe in this model. It's a substantial vehicle, roomy and solid. I drove almost every other model SUV out there but ended up right where I started. Must say the Escape offered more features in my price range but it really felt like a "small" car and I just feel safer and enjoy the ride more of the larger Explorer. Very roomy and with the seats folding down flat it's great for transporting bulky items. Although I ended up upgrading my radio/stereo the standard system is far superior to most of its competitors'. Accessories and interior are solid on this one (no flimsy plastic pieces to break in normal wear and tear).
Visual is great. No blind spots like I found on other SUVs I drove.
Curious about a little "surge" issue it seems to have in the 10-15 mph range (when applying gas from a coast). Perhaps this is only on my vehicle as I did not experience it with other Explorers I drove (or the one I owned previously). Other than this little annoying glitch it rides and drives like a dream.
Regardless, I think it's a fabulous SUV!"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Director,
April 30, 2010
By EAM
from Miami, Fl
"The vehicle has been perfect for our needs. The company needed transportation to support both our customers and employees. The Explorer has fit our needs perfectly. We found it to be easy to handle and park, extremely comfortable, no problem getting in and out, even for short people. The ride has been excellent and driving around town has been a pleasure. The savings of purchasing a low mileage 5 year old vehicle with an interior and exterior in excellent shape has given us a great return on our investment and fulfilled our needs."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 4 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
my explorer,
December 10, 2008
By carnut
from Austin, Tx
"Great vehicle and the best value out there. Have had 4 Explorers and my latest, a 2005 XLT, is the best. No problems, runs great on regular, get 17mpg in town and 22mpg on highway at 75 mph, still has original tires at 43000 miles, great turning radius and quiet."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?65+
How long have you owned your car?3-5 years
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Anonymous Review from Arlington Heights, Illinois,
April 30, 2008
By Anonymous
"I have had the Ford Explorer for a couple of months and I think it was the best decision I ever made. It has more room than any other Suv that I have had and it also has more features and a bigger cargo area."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?4
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
unknown,
February 21, 2008
By Anonymous
from atlanta,ga
"I have owned a ford explorer for the past 12 yrs. Recently switched. The explorer has more space and features than any Suv I have driven"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Over 5 years
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
2005 Review,
February 5, 2008
By Anonymous
"I love my explorer....I especially love the 3rd row seating....not to mention the beautiful body style....it suits my familys needs and wants...the only thing i noticed is that it doesn't have a lot of get up and go...other than that...its the best!!!"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
2005 review,
January 16, 2008
By Anonymous
from Baltimore, Md.
"This is my 3rd Ford Explorer, I love the space compared to other SUV's. I received more value for the buck and the performance is pretty good."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 9 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Explorer,
December 11, 2007
By Anonymous
from Nashville, TN
"I absolutely love my Explorer. My wife has an Explorer Sport and has had no problems out of it. I expect the same with my vehicle. It is very spacious and accomodates a family's athletic lifestyle."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?25-34
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?2
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Great SUV,
August 30, 2007
By Anonymous
from Dallas, TX
"The Ford Explorer is a fabulous car. My trade-in was an Explorer (1995) with over 100,000 miles and it was still in great mechanical condition. The experience with my previous Explorer made the decision easy to buy another Ford product. I am very pleased with the size and performance of the Explorer."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
2005 Ford Explorer,
June 8, 2007
By Anonymous
"Overall, the Explorer is great. I got all of the bells and whistles I could ever imagine, for a great price."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?25-34
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?4
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
GREAT,
March 12, 2007
By Erica
from Senoia, Georgia
"I love my vehical. It is everything that I was looking for!!"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?25-34
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?4
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Another Great Car,
November 22, 2006
By An Angel
from Columbia, SC
"This is my second Explorer and I love this truck. It handles great and has plenty of room for the kids and the gear. I highly recommend this american staple."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?25-34
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
My Ford Explorer,
August 31, 2012
By Anonymous
from Richmond Va.
"This is my first car buying experience in more than twenty years and I really enjoyed it. My car is wonderful. I have had it now for 45 days and each morning I can't wait to get into it. I love my seats and the whole interior is just great. I am 6 feet 7 inches tall and I have plenty of room. The cargo space is more than adequate. I have an elrely mother and her entrance to the vehicle is made very easy with the nice running boards and handles that she can reach. Overall I am very pleased with my ride and would have no problem recommending The Ford Explorer to anyone.
Thanks for the opportunity to write this review."
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?50-64
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?4
Review 15 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
05 Ford Explorer Eddie Bauer,
December 27, 2011
By ES
"I bought my 05 Explorer used last month with 60k miles. I wanted a 4x4 with the third row to haul my herd to camping trips and have enough muscle for a boat in the future. The 4.6 V8 doesn't dissappoint; it has plenty of power, acceleration, but is still quiet at speed on the highway. I'm getting about 14mpg in town which is a little lower than promised by EPA. I knew I would have to sacrifice mpg to get the space and power.
As far as options and value, the Explorer is great. The Eddie Bauer package offers leather seats throughout, heated up front with power for both driver and passenger. The sound system is great, with CD changer and the optional DVD player for entertaining the kids while traveling. I like the memory settings for the seats so that my wife and I can each have the seat just like we want. Also nice is the 2-way tailgate (just the glass opens or the whole tailgate), sunroof, and the courtesy lights to illuminate the ground by the driver and passenger doors.
My only complaint is the storage and Ipod integration. With the 3rd row seats in use, there is little storage behind to keep gear. There is a luggage rack on the roof so storing gear up top is an alternative. I test drove the Expedition which is bigger and offers more room behind the 3rd row but it's a huge vehicle and I couldn't justify the size (and mileage) for weekend warrior trips. The radio doesn't have an aux input where I can plug in my Iphone/Ipod. While there are some "Macgyver" solutions to this online, I'll likely just upgrade to an after-factory radio to get the aux input down the road.
Overall, a great truck that is rugged yet polished with some nice ammenities and plenty of solid safety features (air bag, stability control, back up sensor)"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
2005 Ford Explorer,
August 2, 2011
By spots317
from Milwaukee, WI
"I wholeheartedly admit that I love foreign cars. For the past 19 years, I've driven nothing but VW, Honda, or Lexus. So when my husband picked out "his" car, a Ford Explorer, I was less than enthused but respected his decision because it was going to be his primary vehicle.
Fast forward to today...
I am now the primary driver of the Explorer and I love it! I am pleasantly surprised with how solid the vehicle is. And immensely comfortable...so comfortable that I liken it to driving from my couch. The ride is smooth and very quiet. The engine is so quiet that if we are parked at the store, we forget that we started the engine. I'm used to driving sedans or small SUVs, so initially driving the vehicle felt odd...it seemed so BIG...but it is easily maneuverable, even for parallel parking.
There is plenty of room for our two kids and three dogs. I like the way the rear seating can be rearranged to accommodate bickering children or for carrying larger items. Though we don't use them anymore, there are ample child seat latches. Towing was a breeze (couldn't feel any lag whatsoever).
All-in-all, I am VERY happy with the vehicle and wonder why I'd waited so long in trying a Ford. I'd always liked the styling of their various models, but never would have considered buying one...now I can say that I'd consider buying a second one so that we both have an Explorer.
One thing to add is that our Explorer is a 2005. We could have purchased a 2006, but we preferred the interior styling of the 2005.
Pros:
-Comfort
-Quietness
-Smooth Ride
-Large cargo area
-Great for towing
-Lots of cupholders and storage compartments
-Rear temperature control
-Various speed front/rear windshield wipers (may sound odd to list this as a Pro, but I really like have so many options for both the front AND rear wipers)
Cons:
-Gas mileage (can't lie, but it's comparable to our little Volvo wagon, so maybe not that much to complain about)
-Child locks on the rear doors: they are simply a button that you push up/down to engage the locks. The children picked that up in a heartbeat and reposition the lock themselves so they can open their own door anyway. Would much prefer to have a lock that requires a key like I'm used to in the VW)
-Dashboard layout not necessarily driver-friendly, especially for 4WD controls
-Power window lock locks ALL windows except for the driver's. I have to ask my husband to unlock them just so I can open my passenger window. Annoying.
-Wish the far rear windows could open for the dogs
"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
Review 17 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Love this vehicle.,
August 5, 2009
By Smiley
from Charlotte & Lake Lure, NC
"2005 Ford Explorer 4x4 with 4.0 Liter engine, is a great vehicle. Comfortable on long and short drives, and meets our requirements for city driving as well as steep mountain trails. Fits 4 adults quite comfortably, and accepts a 5th adult without too much difficulty.
For the size of the vehicle, it feels a bit under powered, but achieved 22 mpg at 65 - 70 mph on trip from Orlando to Charlotte.
The whole family loves this vehicle.
"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Our new car,
May 26, 2009
By jmeyersick
from Lawrence, KS
"We bought our Explorer on kind of a impulse buy, but we really love it. I would however like to have better gas mileage, but the overall vehicle is great. We have a family of 5 and the kids can spread out with the 3rd row seat and enjoy a movie on the DVD player. I also love the sunroof."
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
Explorer,
December 30, 2008
By Taxlady
from Melissa, TX
"I like my SUV. It is performing good. The lift gate has cracked for no apparent reason. I wonder if this is a trait of this kind of vehicle. Other than that the vehicle is doing great."
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?65+
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2005 FORD EXPLORER
I love my Explorer,
November 21, 2008
By Valdragon
from Baltimore, MD
"I love this truck! It has a ton of space for our camping gear. We can even sleep in the back of the truck with the seat folded flat! It performs beautifully with the V6 engine. My only complaint is there isn't enough head room. Small price to pay with the rest of the package. I love the sunroof and the 6 CD in-dash changer! I wish my husband would stop pretending that its his truck!"
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Space (cargo/passenger)
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?1-2 years
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?4