Top Rated Vehicle

Vehicle Reviews

This vehicle is no longer available. Continue shopping at CarMax.

2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE

2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
7 of 10(70%)customers would recommend this vehicle to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE
Review 1 for 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE
2002 VW Beetle,
January 31, 2007
By Mr DIY and wife
from Atlanta Area GA
"We LOVE the looks of the car.
We like the ride of the car ~ unless you are driving 16+ hours at a stretch ... then the seats get a bit uncomfortable.
We love how spunky our manual transmission is.
This is a FUN car to drive ...
And the price for a USED low mileage Beetle was sweet!
BUT ... loving the drive and owning it are two different things!!
I ABSOLUTE HATE that there is nothing that we can repair ourselves. Open the engine and there is nothing that looks "normal." Chilton's does not even publish a manual for this car ... it is NOT a Do-It-Yourself maintenance car.
Replacing a headlight costs $85!!! OMG ... how insane! The owner's manual advises ... take it to the dealer for changing light bulbs."
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
15 of 15 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE
2002 Volkswagen Beetle Hatchback,
August 2, 2008
By Anonymous
"This car is so totally fun to drive! Seriously. And for practical matters: it handles very well in hard rain; it doesn't shimmy at higher speeds; and the A/C cools things down within 2-3 minutes after the car has been sitting in the summer heat all day. The overall maneuvering of the car is really good. It doesn't have the pick up of a Porsche but it'll get you where you need to go fairly quick, all the same. I'm not that tall so the comfort of the car is great for me, however, I could see where a 6 footer might get a bit restless after a while. I was pleasantly surprised at how much room there is in the trunk. The Monsoon sound radio is dynamic. Absolutely a fun ride and I feel very safe while doing it."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE
VW BEETLE,
November 25, 2008
By TXNURSE
from Covington, Texas
"Very reliable vehicle, with GREAT gas mileage! will never go out of style. Averages 28 to 31MPG, usually closer to 31. I would definetly recommend this car to a close friend, or family."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?25-34
How long have you owned your car?3-5 years
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE
2002 VW Beetle Turbo S,
December 31, 2007
By Anonymous
"We bought this car after searching extensively. After test driving dozens of cars, this car was the perfect blend of comfort and performance for us.
I love:
-the heated leather seats
-monsoon stereo
-special turn signals in front
-amazing amount of head room
The turbo makes such a difference, and this car really excels on the highway, as well as the city.
The back seats fold very neatly to create quite a large cargo area. I have had no complaints regarding space.
The fit and finish of this car is superb. There is nothing on this car that looks or feels cheaply made.
If you are serious about wanting to work on it yourself, there are resources out there (Bentley makes a wonderful service manual).
This car is absolutely special, and I have zero regrets about purchasing it. Good luck!
"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?25-34
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?2
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE
VW Beetle Sport,
November 20, 2006
By Cyberdog
from Charlotte, NC
"excellent interior comfort. leather, monsoon stereo, quality dash and interior materials.
great turbo performance, excellent shifting, terrific handling.
nice alloy wheels, beautiful silver color, great lines."
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What is your gender?Male
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?5+
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE
heh.....Okay,
July 19, 2012
By N.M.
"I have a VW Beetle, it's........Okay.....I guess. there are a few bad things like... the car doesnt brake fast enough, it shifts really rough, you can feel alot of bumps in the road. But good things are......it has a good turning radias, i dont feel that many bumps in the passenger seat. so overall the car is okay... oh and one more thing....... it cost ALOT to fix."
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value for the Money
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?Under 18
How long have you owned your car?Over 5 years
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?This was my first car
Review 7 for 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE
VW Bug,
December 1, 2010
By Kim
from Kansas
"I purchased a VW bug and have had nothing but trouble with it. Mainly with the wiring of the headlights and blinkers... It's been in the shop 3 times and I haven't even made the first payment on it. I am not happy at all."
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for the Money
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
What is your gender?Female
What is your age?35-49
How long have you owned your car?Less than a year
How many cars have you owned in your lifetime?4
Ratings-Only Reviews for 2002 VOLKSWAGEN BEETLE
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3
Comfort
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for the Money
5 out of 5
5 out of 5